Carraigin Castle
Carraigin Castle

CONTACT

 

 

Phone: +353 89 600 2250 or

             +44 7946 703 539

 

Email: carraigincastle@gmail.com

 

 

 

What our guests have said:

Wind...rain....snow....sunshine....and a brilliant time!!
What a fantastic holiday we’ve just had at Carraigin Castle!!! An incredibly relaxing time in a beautiful, memorable setting. The castle is absolutely amazing. Beautifully restored with tons of really interesting features. The weather was pretty wet and windy most of the time, but that just gave us the perfect excuse to have a huge fire every day in the great room (main living room) - we spent most evenings reading and playing games around the fire, which was great fun. The kitchen was small but perfectly well equipped and there were loads of options as far as bedrooms were concerned (our kids loved the gallery room!). There are great walks directly from the castle and also tons of other interesting things to see within a 20 min drive. Campbell’s pub (10 mins away) is well worth a visit (or two!) We booked Tina to cook for us on the Saturday we arrived (and were still eating the food several days later - it was lovely and there was tons of it!) Just one more thing - everyone was so incredibly helpful - Anne gave us great information before and after booking and was really quick to respond to every question. Geraldine (who lives nearby) was lovely (really friendly and had great suggestions for things to do) and Dave (the boatman) gave us a great overview and instructions for using the boat (which we were able to take out a couple of times when the wind and rain stopped!). Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing holiday!
28/03/2019 
Irish Castle Honeymoon Paradise
Charm and grandeur of a 13th century castle with the modern conveniences of the 21st century. We recently stayed here for an entire week and it was one of the best decisions we made ahead of our honeymoon in Ireland. Location, location, location! The Castle feels totally secluded on its 7 acres, accessed by small meandering roads cutting through green hills with picturesque stone walls, it's the Ireland you have always imagined. Secluded as it feels it is only a 15 minute drive to a small but bustling town with a large grocery store (perfect for picking up any and everything you need for your stay), post office, and quiet Irish pubs. The location is also ideal for making day trips to places like The Cliffs of Moher, Eyre Square or countless ruins and castles. The views every morning from the back of the castle or the towers and spires rising above it were breathtaking and peaceful. We had fires every night in the big fireplace and read on the couch, but hey there is also cable and WiFi if you're not looking to disconnect entirely! The castle also has modern heat, so don't let worries of castle draftiness scare you off. The small kitchenette located off of the great room saw plenty of use and had everything needed to prepare meals, make coffee and tea, and store left-overs from Tina! If you go, be sure to have Tina prepare a meal for the night of your arrival, the food is spectacular and you can use the left overs throughout the week in other meals! Two big bathrooms and countless bedrooms may have been more room than the two of us really needed, but the rates were so good compared to even small cottages why not live out the fantasy and stay in a real castle! This place is perfect for the adventuring couple or big families that want to take a group vacation. We are so grateful that Anne has opened this Castle up for so many others to enjoy with friends and family. Our only hope is that in another five years we can comeback with our entire family to share in the magical experience!
12/11/2018

 

A wonderful unique experience
I recently stayed here with my husband, daughter (1.5 yo), and another couple with their 2 kids (1.5 and 4). This property is a great find for a group. Plenty of space for sleeping quarters and hanging out as a group. The kids loved all the window seats. We sat by the cozy fire every night enjoying drinks and games after the kiddos went to bed. The views from every side were beautiful, especially the lake. We even saw an otter one morning. Tina, the recommended caterer that lives near by, didn't disappoint. We hired her to make a dinner on our first night and she brought a feast. Lamb, chicken, veggies, potatoes in multiple forms, salad, breads, dessert and even some things for breakfast. It lasted us half the week. (which was great because while the kitchen had the basic necessities, it would've been difficult to cook a large meal for a group there because it is pretty small.) The owner Annemarie, was very easy to talk to and very accommodating with the children. She helped us with 2 cribs and even brought in a high chair. It made it so much easier for us to not have to lug that stuff overseas. Logistics wise, it was very easy to find driving, and the town of Headford was only about 10 minutes away, where there's a large grocery store and a few places to eat. Only about a half hour from Galway city, and an easy day trip to Connemara and south to the Cliffs of Moher/Doolin/the Burren. (I highly recommend trying the Irish Falconry School at Ashford Castle and learn how to fly a hawk, and checking out Joyce Country Sheepdogs for some great conversation and a demonstration in a more than stunning location) We've been home for 2 weeks now and are still talking about how cool this place was. I really do hope to get back again during one of our future trips to Ireland.
10/22/2018 at 7:44 PM
Great place for a family vacation
Our family stayed at the castle and had an awesome experience. Plenty of room for the 8 adults and 5 children, beds for all. It is really amazing to stay in 800 year castle with décor that includes lots of wood, large fireplace, wall hangings, knights, queens, etc. Large dining table could accommodate all 13 of us. We took advantage of the recommended caterer, Tina, and she made us an amazing meal with enough leftovers to last for a couple days. She was also a lot of fun to sit and chat with, a wonderful lady. We also utilized the boat and toured around the lake. David, the owner of the boat, gave us a nice tutorial on using the boat, took us out the first day and told us some great stories about the area. The castle is close to Galway, Cong, and other sites for quick day trips. I would also recommend the Joyce Country Sheep Farm, had a great tour and demonstration of border collies herding the sheep. The host was did a wonderful job and was very entertaining. In addition, the farm itself is in a beautiful valley. In all, I highly recommend staying at Carraigin Castle, it is a great place to vacation.
06/26/2018 at 2:23 PM

 

 

Magical

  • Guest martin k.                     
  • Date of stay 04/27/13
  • Review Submitted 05/11/13
Can't match the price, location and family friendliness of Carraigin.  Restored in the 1970's, it blows my mind the amount of work, creativeness,  finances, put into building this place from a pile of near rubble(I saw the before picture)!  The grounds are gorgeous with walled off entry and gate; adjoining "enchanted forest" looking quite primevil- the kids and I spent tons of time there; and the hauntingly beautiful Lough Corrib, covered with islands and the occasional swan.

The castle provides a rustic, comfy lived in feel with medieval touches,  "great room" with fireplace(we made a fire every night, easy to do with firestarter and peat bricks that produce a wonderful smell).  Plenty of heat, turned furnace off at night. No drafts or mosquitoes.

One enters through the side on ground level: an entry way, straight ahead bathroom with large tub and stacked washer/dryer(Yes, a dryer, my wife loved it.  Easy to use);  the 4 vault rooms, each with their own door, cute and comfy; moreover, every room in the castle has it's own window.   Go up the original stone stairs to the mainfloor, great room, master bedroom and bath(with small gargoyle which the kids named Gregory).Good secured wifi; cable TV.

Opposite end, tiniest most well equipped kitchen ever. Full size fridge, and the spiral staircase to the small but romantic tower room.  If I were alone or a kid, I would stay here: small bed, sink, 2 lights, windows to all directions, doorway to roof

The parapets are about a meter up- little chance of falling off unless one stupidly stands up on the edge.  Rules for the kids: not out by the lake or on the roof  without a parent. The level above the great room has large comfy bed and small one and entrance to roof.

We rented the boat, no time to use. The boatman took us out, showed us how to avoid the rocks/ shallow spots.  Get a boatman if you really want to fish or visit an island.

A caterer lives down the road and made a great meal, leftovers for 2 days.  Both her and her husband are warm and welcoming.  Indeed, better than the castle is the genuine Irish kindness.

Cute town 3 miles; good grocer/atm, Chinese + hotel bar food.  Stay local: Our sights- Cliffs of Moher; must do Ashford Castle/Cong + falcon school; Galway(get gelato), Connemara, Kinvara/Castle Banquet, Aran Isl.   Dublin airport 2 1/2 hours on great motorway.

Housekeeper always quick to help.  I talked to the owner- thanked him for making a kids dream come true.  Indeed, thanks to all!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

Simply amazing.

  • Guest Andreas                     (Germany)                    
  • Date of stay 05/04/13
  • Review Submitted 05/22/13
I stood in front of this castle on my first trip to Ireland in 1994 and never could forget it. Now after 19 years I finally went and lived there with friends. Words do not do this place justice. It was simply magnificent. We brought about 3 pounds of CDs with us but didn't listen to a single one of them since we rather preferred the medieval and classic music we found there. For the first few nights we sat by the peat fire, mouthes open still in awe of the place with the images of the knights gazing down on us. As a reviewer commented earlier, and I have to agree fully, take the time to fully enjoy and appreciate the castle and don't spend your entire time on day trips. The castle in itself is worth a trip to Ireland. I simply can not recommend this place enough. But a little word of advice, check weather before renting the boat as the weather was pretty miserable (nobodies fault) and we didn't take the boat out. Again I can't praise this place high enough.

Perfectly at home for a week

  • Guest Miss Shelly                     (Darwin, NT, Australia)                    
  • Date of stay 03/16/13
  • Review Submitted 03/26/13
Our group of 11 friends had a fantastic time at the castle. Beautifully furnished in scenic surrounds. We enjoyed day trips in all directions, a visit to the local bar in walking distance (opens 9pm), being entertained by local musicians we hired for our own concert (highly recommended), country strolls and even some fishing (enthusiasts should take their own tackle). despite the unusually cold spring we were warm as toast in the castle.

The caretaker made sure everything was OK, phoned in occasionally but left us to enjoy the castle as if it was our own.

Just fabulous.

Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

 

Perfect Castle Holiday

  • Guest In Love With Ireland                     (Port Angeles, Washington USA)                    
  • Date of stay 11/21/12
  • Review Submitted 12/04/12
My family and I were so happy with our stay at the castle!  I can't describe the feeling I got when we pulled into the driveway for the first time.  The setting was absolutely beautiful and everyday I found something new to admire.  The castle had everything we needed to make our stay perfect; the beds were comfortable, everything was clean, and there was even a cell phone we could use if needed.  I was able to stay connected to everything back home thanks to the free wi-fi, and the town of Headford had grocery stores, take away, money exchange, and gas.  I would recommend the castle to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable, and magical stay in Ireland.  I hope to stay there again very soon!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

Dream Come True

  • Guest Jason S.                     
  • Date of stay 08/04/12
  • Review Submitted 09/11/12
When we planned our trip to Ireland, the one thing I wanted to do was stay in an Irish Castle.  I was travelling with my wife, 6 year old son and his grandparents, so to find this amazing property on VRBO was a dream come true.  By looking at the pictures on the site my expectations rose to a level that I thought could never be reached, and I worried that I would be dissapointed.  That was not the case. 

When we drove through the gates and first set our eyes on the Carraigin Castle our mouths dropped, and we couldn't believe that we were actually staying in a castle in Ireland.  We were greeted by Marian the caretaker who did a great job in letting us know everything we needed to know about the castle and the grounds.  We spent the entire week exploring the castle and enjoying the fireplace each night relaxing with a couple bottles of wine.  We also hired the services of a caterer who lives just up the road, who made us amazing Irish supper and packed lunches for the next day.

The best part for me and my son was the enchanted forest right beside the castle.  We spent hours and hours fighting off intruders and building forts in this area that looked like it was right out of Lord of Rings movie. 

My son and I did a quick video tour of the Castle (it won't win an Oscar) that I have put on Youtube.  Please search "Carraigin"

The pictures on this site do not do this place justice, it far exceeded my expectations, it was a DREAM COME TRUE. This is a week I will cherish forever!!  

Thanks again to Anne-Marie for allowing others to enjoy her amazing property.  I will be talking about this place and recommending it to whoever will listen.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, age 55+.

 

 

Wonderful Getaway

  • Guest John                     (Alexandria, Virginia)                    
  • Date of stay 08/25/12
  • Review Submitted 09/07/12

My wife's family and I stayed at the castle for a week in August.  What can I say?  It was exactly what we were looking for.  The castle is off the beaten path, north of Galway, but close enough to so many attractions.  Just driving up to the castle each day was exciting.  We brought two young boys with us who lived in a fantasyland of Viking battles and Irish history for the whole week.  The place was spacious and incredibly beautiful situated next to Lough Carribe.  I don't know how you would want to stay anywhere else.  The only drawback is that it is probably not best for high-end travelers.  There are some discomforts like dampness and smells of an old castle.  The kitchen is very small but not problematic.  If you keep windows open at night, bugs and mosquitoes will come in.  And it can be chilly, but not if you light a roaring fire in the fireplace!  The appliances, such as washer/dryer worked intermittently at best.  We just rolled with the minor inconveniences as a small price to pay for staying in such a magical place.  I would highly recommend Carraigin Castle to any of my friends and family that are looking for a different, special place to stay in Ireland.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Owner response: What a nice review! It is so gratifying when people who share our enthusiasm come and stay. We must make sure that future guests avoid the “minor inconveniences” by clearer guidance on the operation of the washing machine and dryer (dryer brand new and both in perfect working order) and on the opening and closing of windows which should be open by day to prevent damp accumulating but closed when the lights are on at night to exclude midges (no mosquitoes in County Galway!) 



 

Perfect family getaway

  • Guest Angela                     (Philadelphia suburbs, USA)                    
  • Date of stay 02/25/12
  • Review Submitted 03/07/12

This was an excellent place to stay. Very clean given the age of the building. Be reasonable about your expectations. It's not a five star luxury hotel. It's a very cool castle. Because it was empty for a few weeks before we got there, it was a little cool and damp the first day. But they have great central heating and it warmed up pretty quickly. The stone stairs sweated for most of the week  - not a problem, but note that the bathroom with the shower tub combo is downstairs.

There were only four of us, so we did not use most of the bedrooms. Note that most of the beds are downstairs in interconnected rooms - not much privacy down there. Upstairs, there's a main bedroom connected to the second bathroom which only has a tub, no shower.  On that same level is the amazing living/ dining room with a very small, but well stocked kitchen. There's another loft bedroom above with a full and a twin. Again, not much privacy there, but it was perfect for our needs. It would work great with one or two couples in the bedrooms upstairs and a gaggle of kids downstairs. Not sure it would be ideal, with say, 4 couples all wanting some semblance of privacy. But it's great for a large group of friends.

Bathrooms were dated but clean. Washer and dryer in the downstairs bathroom. We only had problems with the hot water when we tried to take 4 showers right after each other. We figured it out after that. Satellite tv had great kids channels. Wifi was dependable but sometimes slow.

I'm being as critical as possible to give potential renters some idea of what to expect, but I can't emphasize enough how awesome this place is. We hope to come back during a summer to just chill more at the castle and rent their motorboat. The lake is gorgeous. There are so many cool nooks and crannies that the pics don't give justice to. My one regret is that we were so busy site seeing that we didn't take a day to just breathe there. We also had fantastic weather, so that kept us out and about.

Marion the caretaker is so helpful with any questions or problems you may have.

Location is great to explore Galway, the Burren and the Aran islands.

It is an ideal getaway. And really a great value. Highly recommended!!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

 

 

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

  • Guest Nancy                     (Eaton, Ohio USA)                    
  • Date of stay 10/01/11
  • Review Submitted 11/15/11

Visiting Ireland has always been a dream of mine; so when my son and friend agreed to visit the country with me we started looking for rentals. It came down to two different properties. I asked my son for input and he simply stated why would you stay anywhere else in Ireland; choose the castle. Of course our choice was the right one. The discriptions and pictures are very accurate. The place is wonderful. Lots of space. The lake and grounds are beatutiful. We loved the big thick comforters on the beds; the oversized bath towels, plenty of hot water. The kitchen is small; but well equipped. We used the washer/dyer every three days; because we packed light. The village of Headford is wonderful. We took many of our suppers there. The caretaker recommended several good places for us to eat at. The caretaker called to check up on us after a week; she made it clear that she was around if we needed anything or simply had any questions. She never hovered or smorthered us. The castle was a great home base for  site seeing. In 3/4 hours we were able to be in Dublin; where we spent the day. We also drove down to the South to Dingle (4/5 drive); we spent the night; did the Ring of Kerry the next day and then drove over to Cork to vist the Blarney Castle than beat a path back home to the castle. What a great feeling it is to see that big white tower looming over the tree tops to let us know we were almost home after a long two days of sight seeing. We also went up to the Giants Causway and spent the night in Northern Ireland; another 4/5 hour drive. After the big trips we took short trips closer to the castle the following days. Everything is close to the castle; Galway has the best shopping and eateries. There are so many nice areas in driving distance of an hour or two that can be enjoyed; the caretaker will give advice on these areas also. Go to Ireland; stay in the castle; enjoy the castle; get in the car and drive to see everything Ireland has to offer; then go back home to your castle. Driving was fine; we only got horns blown at us three times; in two weeks that was remarkable. Then you can be just like me; I haven't been able to get the stupid grin off of my face; nor the stars out of my eyes. Ireland is the most wondeful /magical place on earth; so why not see it and stay in a castle while your at it. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

 

 

a most magical week!

  • Guest Aniko                     (Los Angeles)                    
  • Date of stay 06/25/11
  • Review Submitted 07/19/11

our large family stayed at carigan for a week this summer. it was a big family reunion of sorts. staying in a castle was a magical experience. it fit our family perfectly. each family had lovely sleeping quarters. we were able to be together in the great room for meals and hanging out time. the castle was comfortable and well decorated. the children particularly loved the downstairs vaulted rooms and the tower bedroom, they pretended we were all students at hogwarts (harry potter.) the grounds of the castle were amazing, the beautiful lake was fun to boat around or just sit beside and enjoy. the location in headford was ideal for trips to galway or up north to cong and westport. our week at carigan castle will be a special memory that will not be forgotten. thank you!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.

 

 

Great Family Get Away

  • Guest Wendlings                     (Florida)                    
  • Date of stay 06/11/11
  • Review Submitted 07/01/11

We spent a week at Carrigan this past July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Castle.  Our children, 4 and 8, thought it was spectacular and had lots of fun exploring the castle.  The country side was beautiful, and nicely situated near Galway and with easy day trips to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher.  The grounds were beautiful and we also rented the boat - another delight.  Would highly recommend this as a great getaway spot and vacation for families and groups.  We had a wonderful time!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.



 

It couldn't be more perfect!

  • Guest Murreydobe                     (Norco, CA, USA)                    
  • Date of stay 05/07/11
  • Review Submitted 05/22/11
Our party of 4 adults spent a truly magic week at Carraigin Castle.  No matter how attractive it may seem in photos, it's better in real life!    All modern amenities are provided, but that medieval feeling still pervades your every moment.   Beautiful location right on the banks of Loch Corrib, and the nearby town of Headford can supply just about anything you might need.  We'll be back-we're determined to find that secret tunnel!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

      

Enchanting Castle

  • Guest Karen167                     (Italy)                    
  • Date of stay 03/05/11
  • Review Submitted 05/04/11

Our family and some friends stayed at the castle in March.  We loved it!  The sense of history and the detail that the owners have restored is amazing.  There were 6 of us total and we had plenty of room to sleep and just lounge about.  It is in a great location and in driving distance to so many sights in the Connemarra and Galway area, not to mention only a couple of hours from Cliffs of Moher.  The castle has so many wonderful "nooks" to sit and peer out the windows, plus the staircase to the roof for stunning views of the lake.  I recommend it to anyone who wants a retreat into history and an experience you'll never forget!  (The town of Headford is charming and the people quite friendly!)

Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

           

A Fairytale Holiday

 

  • Guest Kathleen                     (Washington, DC)                    
  • Date of stay 01/02/11
  • Review Submitted 03/30/11

My family hopes to return again and again to this spectacular property. The location, on a lake, surrounded by beautiful countryside and of course the castle, are very special. In addition, the caretaker is delightful, Headford has charming pubs and cafes, and you are well positioned for exploring western Ireland, especially Connemara. It will be difficult to leave the castle, though, with the fireplace burning and the comfortable sofas and rocking chairs. I cannot recommend it strongly enough, although I am concerned we will be competing for reservations! Enjoy.

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

            

Memorable holiday retreat!

 

  • Guest Louise, Tom & Blair                     (Ossining, NY, USA)                    
  • Date of stay 10/09/10
  • Review Submitted 01/12/11

I was looking for a memorable place to take my niece (studying abroad in Galway) and my nephew during our visit to West Ireland.  Carraigin Castle was a dream come true!  On our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly and competent Irish caretaker who gave us a tour of the comfortably renovated 13th C castle.  We spent three days enjoying the amenities of the castle and the surrounding countryside. The location is perfect for exploring Galway and Connemara, or just relaxing in the medieval atmosphere of a real castle!  The owners were gracious and very easy to work with.  I would definitely recommend the castle and hope to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

          

Fairytale Castle

 

  • Guest Patsy                     (USA)                    
  • Date of stay 10/02/10
  • Review Submitted 12/06/10

Our stay in  Carraigin Castle was everything we hoped for and more.  There were just the two of us and we had great fun being King and Queen of our own castle.  It took many pictures to capture the amazing features of this beautiful place.  A future visit with the grandchildren would be a whole new fantastic experience as well.  The location is perfect for exploring the coast of Ireland.  Connemara was a favorite area of ours.   We also wanted to spend more time just enjoying the castle and the wonderful setting on Lough Corrib.  The owners are very gracious and their caretaker is the epitome of the friendly Irish.  We highly recommend Carraigin Castle and hope to visit again some day.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

            

Amazing countryside retreat!

 

  • Guest JW                     (Philadelphia, PA, USA)                    
  • Date of stay 08/19/10
  • Review Submitted 12/01/10

My wife and I visited Carraigin Castle during August and were treated to a wonderful and hospitable stay.  The castle is tucked into a lovely country setting outside of Galway, with lots of options for day trips by car.  Nearby horse races, local pubs, and the natural beauty of Ireland are all at your disposal.  Also, the experience of staying in your own castle is hard to overstate.  It is cute and stately at the same time.  We absolutely loved it as a rustic, romantic getaway for a couple, but with its ample bedspace would be perfect for a couple of families with children (the adults could have the upstairs beds and the children could own the "dungeon").  Great!

            

 

 

Print Print | Sitemap
© carraigin.net